Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

but can i be a stoic?

video poetry

years ago i met a Stoic at a party and i asked him what it was

he told me but it didn’t stick

he seemed calm, though

today i met a Stoic in a book, and i read what it was and

it stuck just fine

‘cause it feels like sense

rugged antique word left me cold before

soft sweet meaning warms me up now

all in good time, i suppose

i am the boss of me

and the witness of me

i am a timelapse of a rose

i am unfolding

i can stoic

i pick and choose my favorite bits

be here now,

conquer self

be calm

savor time

don’t complain or explain

do what matters

respond not react

you know about Viktor Frankl, yes?

the psychiatrist who survived Auschwitz

Between stimulus and response, there is a space, he says. In that space is our power, he says, to choose our response, he says

years ago when i met that Stoic at a party and i asked him what it was

he told me but it didn’t stick

maybe i wasn’t ready for stillness

or maybe i only asked because i liked his face

or maybe i just needed some words to help pass the time


Man's Search for Meaning by Viktor E. Frank


how to love the world is a reader-supported publication. These shares will always be free for all, but if you can support my work by becoming a paid subscriber, that would be super cool. Either way, I love you. 🫶🏼


Annie's Art Gallery 🖼️

Discussion about this podcast

how to love the world
i wrote this for you
I write poems and stories. I read poems and stories. Are they really for you? Of course!
Everything I create is for me, for them
and for you.
xo, annie
anniewood.com