Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

if i were a poet

video poetry

These words were first published on Medium. This is the debut of the video poem.

The Kind of Woman Who Wears Poems in Her Hair - mixed media (including a few of my poems typed on parchment paper) on paper. available here.

If I were a poet I’d tell you who I am
I am the bamboo bending in the wind in a forest in Japan
Even in the strongest winds
I won’t break
I am the chimes in the same wind
My music gets louder
I won’t stop
If I were a poet I’d confess
I am the sudden storm
That will ruin your picnic
If I were a poet I’d bargain
I am the wailing toddler on a plane
Unless you play peek a boo with me
Then I will stop crying
But only for a moment
And then I would go back to feeling too much
Longing too much
And wishing I could tell you who I am

Thanks for being here! And if you’re a paid subscriber, or if you’ve purchased my books on Amazon, my signed books here or my art here, I can’t thank you enough for your extra interest, love and support. 🫶🏼 You beautiful patron of the arts, you!

how to love the world
i wrote this for you
I write poems and stories. I read poems and stories. Are they really for you? Of course!
Everything I create is for me, for them
and for you.
xo, annie
anniewood.com