Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

For the Genius Who Wrote Blues Runs the Game

A poem for Jackson C. Frank

I heard Jackson C. Frank’s song, Blues Run the Game, for the first time a few years back, and it hit me hard. His lyrics, his voice, his everything, his music found all my soft spots and burrowed in deep. Each time I hear the song (and I play a song I like over and over again like a four-year-old NEEDING TO watch The Little Mermaid for the gazillionth time in a row), I’m moved as if I’m hearing it for the first time. And all of this emotion landed on me before I read about his story. And that, well, that was just the sad cherry on top.

I’m glad he could share his gifts while he was here. I just hope he was able to derive some joy from it.

create. share. love. repeat.

Thanks for being here for my Friday at 11:11 a.m. offering. Please consider becoming a paid subscriber to further support my creative work. ♡

Subscribe

Annie Wood Art Catalogue

how to love the world
i wrote this for you
I write poems and stories. I read poems and stories. Are they really for you? Of course!
Everything I create is for me, for them
and for you.
xo, annie
anniewood.com