Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

but did you swim it?

spoken word

During the pandemic, poet Jack Jacob created a space for folx to play their music and read their poetry outside of his home in Venice, CA. He set up a bunch of chairs on the street and got the word out… and people showed up! It’s called Horizon Venice (ig: @ horizonvenice), and it’s pretty damn cool. I recently got up to read this poem. The first part is cut off on the video, so here it is also in writing.

artwork by annie wood. see available annie art here.

I’m standing at the edge

it’s high tide

an ocean of blue feathers crashing

to the shore

on my toes,

it feels satin —an endless pillow brush, smells

like fresh laundry right out of the dryer

I dip a toe , lush and light I take a step

in the tickle

to my ankles i

walk

to my chest i

embrace

it’s fluffiness

I

can walk or swim or fly

It’s my choice, really, because anything goes in this sea of ease

all the heaviness has left my body,

every worry

every pain;

every sadness

only an airy comfort surrounds

( is this what dying feels like? )

I dive underneath the feathers and swim with no need to hold my breath

I

dive deeper and deeper,

not knowing what to expect

deeper and deeper

maybe a giant fish bird god will greet me

deeper and deeper

or a magical creature from a soft-covered children’s book

when I reach the bottom of the ocean of feathers, I see something,

something different, something not a feather

I swim-fly closer

It’s a rock

no, a reflection of a rock

a rock in a sea of feathers

i know it instantly

that i am the rock

i pick myself up and shake my head no

i drop myself and swim to shore

and when i arrive

i vow to be a rock only when needed

the rest of the time

i

am a feather

in a sea of beautiful feathers

and the world holds me

and i it

and we embrace our softness

how to love the world is a reader-supported publication. These shares will always be free for all, but if you can support my work by becoming a paid subscriber, that would be super cool. Either way, I love you. 🫶🏼

Discussion about this podcast

how to love the world
i wrote this for you
I write poems and stories. I read poems and stories. Are they really for you? Of course!
Everything I create is for me, for them
and for you.
xo, annie
anniewood.com